Gloryhole’s Holiday Doughnuts

Gloryhole Doughnuts is a trendy, artisanal doughnut shop on Queen St. West between Sorauren and Roncesvalles.  Their frosted, glazed and filled delights have put Parkdale on the map, attracting people from all over the city.

I walk past this place almost every day and you can’t fathom the incredible will power it requires to resist walking through those doors every time I do.  If something is sweet, I want it.  If its sweet, and deep fried I HAVE TO HAVE IT.  So you can appreciate my struggle.

In honour of the holidays I decided to gift us both.    For me- a box of Gloryhole ‘s latest holiday flavoured doughnuts. For you- the inside scoop on just how good they are.

lemon

First up- Lemon Shortbread.  Big, bold lemon flavour with a  zesty glaze topped with crumbled, buttery shortbread.  It was tasty but lemon never wins me over.  If you’re a lemon lover however, than this one’s for you.

design(4)

A sweet vanilla glaze worked so well with a tart, gooey cranberry filling.  The candied orange was a nice touch.

design(3)

A hot chocolate infused pastry cream oozed out of this giant doughnut.  It was rich and decadent, topped with a toasted marshmallow.  I think it weighed five pounds.

design(5)

Eggnog doughnut for the the win! Thick, vanilla frosting on top… boozy, eggnoggy, spiced whipped cream in the center.  The crumbly goodness on top, you ask?  I can’t remember.  I was transfixed by the center. It was so fluffy and delicious.

For the record, I had some help eating these.  Except for the Eggnog one.  That one I devoured on my own no problem.  You’ve got to try it!

If you’re hosting or going to a holiday party this year, grab a box of Gloryhole doughnuts.  They never fail to impress.  Make sure you show up early, or place your order well in advance.

And do as I did.  Have an Eggnog doughnut all to yourself.

 

 

 

One thought on “Gloryhole’s Holiday Doughnuts

  1. I LOVE THIS POST!! I want to make the journey to this donut place. I wish that there were more donuts reviewed but I appreciate that you can only eat so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment